Nutrition, Allergies & Health
Part of serving the needs of campus is diversifying the nutritional profiles of our menus to accommodate a variety of needs and preferences. Campus Dining provides the following guide to help better inform our guests of our dining options.
The High Performance icon indicates items prepared using healthy techniques and wholesome ingredients that work together synergistically to enhance both physical and mental performance and promote overall positive health.
Look for the V to find vegetarian choices of entrees and soups. These items do not contain meat or fish. Vegetarian diets are one opportunity to benefit in both good health and social responsibility. Vegetables require much less natural resources to grow than animal products.
Look for the VGN symbol to find items made without animal products. For a list of vegan choices, please visit our Special Diets page.
Gluten Friendly Offerings
Due to changes by the FDA regarding gluten-free labeling, Campus Dining does not identify food items as gluten-free. We do however offer menu items that don’t contain wheat, rye, or barley as ingredients. To avoid gluten, keep an eye out for our wheat icon.
This icon indicates items/recipes that contain wheat, and/or rye, barley, or non-certified gluten-free oats.
CAUTION, due to the nature of our self-service lines and the production environment in our kitchens, items may have come in contact with gluten through the regular production processes. If gluten must be strictly avoided, please contact our dietitian at firstname.lastname@example.org to discuss your options.
When dining in North or South Dining Hall, you'll find symbols noting nutrition and allergen information for each item on our electronic menu boards. You can also find this information online or by scanning QR codes found throughout the dining hall.
* Please note that sesame will be recognized as a major allergen beginning on 1.1.23. Campus Dining is actively beginning the process to label items that contain sesame.
**On occasion, due to supply chain issues or special chef creations, fluorescent starburst signs may be posted by an item. There will be a note indicating no food allergy or ingredient info is available. Those with food allergies or celiac disease should avoid these dishes or ask to speak with the chef for further information.
Share Your Thoughts
Your ideas and opinions are important to us. We welcome your comments and feedback on how we can make things better or further serve you.
- Text Us 574-334-0832
- Submit a comment
Need a Job?
We are growing… grow with us! Take your next step and join the Notre Dame service family.View Open Positions